Blog - news

FIFA World Cup Update: 10 Teams Now Qualified

December 2, 2022
byTJ414 views
FIFA World Cup Update: 10 Teams Now Qualified

UPDATE: The Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022 is still searching for the last teams to complete its final 16, with ten already qualified.

Here are the teams who have secured a spot for the knockout round of this year’s World Cup tournament:

OKBET Qatar FIFA World Cup qualified teams

Group A: Netherlands, Senegal

The Netherlands had an impressive win over the hosting nation, Qatar’s the Maroon. Midway into the first half of the match, Oranje’s Cody Gakpo had already scored, upping the scoreboard, 1-0. Frenkie de Jong followed after halftime, ending the game 2-0.

Qatar, unfortunately, made history by becoming the first host of the World Cup to exit early in the stage.

On the other hand, the Lions of Teranga won their match against Ecuador’s La Tri via a side-footer from Kalidou Koulibaly, sending the Senegalese to the knockout stage 2-1.

Senegal first got their point when Piero Hincapie, Ecuador’s defender, tackled Ismaila Sarr, giving his team a quick penalty kick. Sarr scored 1-0 with 43:45 into the first half.

However, Ecuador tied the score in the second half, courtesy of Moises Caicedo. Koulibaly then prevented a draw at 69:30 of the match, sealing the game in favor of Senegal.

Group B: England, USA

England had a dominant performance against Wales. The Three Lions midfielder, Marcus Rashford, scored twice in the game, crushing Y Dreigiau’s hopes of qualifying for the knockout stage.

Neither team scored in the first half, but it all changed when Rashford gave England the lead after a free kick. Fellow midfielder Phil Foden upped the ante by making a goal with 50:52 underway.

The final nail to the coffin for Wales happened in 67:40 when Rashford took advantage of his defender by using him as a shield against the goalkeeper. The final score was 0-3.

Meanwhile, the USA fought hard to earn a spot in the Final 16, scoring the match’s only goal, courtesy of Christian Pulisic. Sadly, he was injured in the process and could not carry on.

But his sacrifice was not in vain, as the Americans defended their only point from the Welsh for the remainder of the second half.

Group C: Argentina, Poland

Argentina qualified for the tournament’s knockout stage, beating Poland 2-0. Lionel Messi scored all of the points the Argentinian made, the first from a penalty kick and the second from a rainbow shot away from the Polish goalkeeper’s reach.

Although they lost to Messi, Poland qualified for the Final 16 instead of Mexico, with their goals and goal differential being a factor.

Group D: France, Australia

Defending champion France lost to Tunisia 0-1 but was able to qualify for the next round. Tunisian playmaker Wahbi Khazri scored a quick point just 7:38 into the game.

The Les Bleus were not able to bounce back. Nevertheless, the Eagles of Carthage failed to make the cut, finishing third in Group D. France secured a spot since they were ahead of Australia in terms of goal difference.

In the meantime, Australia’s Socceroos made history, beating Denmark’s De Rød-Hvide, 0-1. It is also a historic event for the Australians as their football team finally ended their 16-year World Cup wait.

Group G: Brazil

Brazil’s Seleção Canarinho won over Switzerland despite one of their key players’ absence — Neymar. Both teams could not score until the 83rd minute when Brazil’s midfielder, Casemiro, launched a rocket goal.

Meanwhile, Neymar had an ankle injury during their opening match against Serbia. A recent update (torn ligaments on his ankle) stated he would be out for the rest of Brazil’s FIFA World Cup group stage matches.

Although they managed to win against Switzerland, it is clear that Neymar will miss out on their match against Cameroon this Saturday, December 3.

Group H: Portugal

Portugal’s Seleção das Quinas completes the first ten of the Final 16, winning against Uruguay, thanks to Bruno Fernandes’ two goals. This is the first time Christiano Ronaldo’s team has won two games in a row since 2006.

Check for more FIFA World Cup updates at OKBET. This Saturday, Argentina goes up against Australia at 3 a.m. and France versus Poland at 11 p.m.

Read more: Double-Double of Stephen Curry lifts Warriors over Timberwolves


OKBET Newsletter Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Loader Submitting...